Long Run Madness

My mom and I are a few short weeks away from the Shipyard Old Port Half-Marathon! We are getting really excited, but this also means the mileage is cranking up. Usually we aim to do our long runs on saturday or sunday but this weekend, we are running the Lowell is Boston Strong 5k on sunday, so we wanted to get our long run in a bit earlier so that our legs would be somewhat fresh.

Our plan called for a 10-miler this week, which I was already pretty nervous about. I’ve run that distance before, but it’s never exactly comfortable… So, the smart thing would have been to wake up early and get this run in while the temps were still somewhat cooler. That would’ve been the smart thing to do, but alas, that is not what we did.

Instead, we woke up late, had a leisurely breakfast and went to pick strawberries. I do love strawberries, so I can’t really complain about that. 

My mom with our pickings!

My mom with our pickings!

Our bad planning got worse though. My mom and I decided to share a small ice cream. We were thinking that maybe the carbs and sugar in the ice cream would power us through the ten miles we still had to conquer. Basically, we just wanted to eat ice cream.

By the time we got home and finally hit the road, we were running during the hottest part of the day with ice cream heavy in our bellies. Less than ideal conditions…

From the beginning, the run was a challenge. My stomach clearly did not get the message that the ice cream was supposed to “power” me. The sun was brutal and by the time we reached 5 miles, my mom and I were pretty darn tired. We ate some gels – peanut butter for me, chocolate for my mom, and hoped for the best.

As we continued on our way, I began dreaming about cooling off- we were running on trails in close proximity to a little pond and beach. I convinced my mom that we should take a little swimming intermission- so that’s what we did!

Continuing on after dunking our legs in the wonderful cool water was rough. Not to mention, the cool water made my legs tighten up like vices when we started to run again! Ugh, the whole run was a struggle.

We finally called it quits after 9.2 miles- so not quite the full 10, but almost. We then treated ourselves to strawberry recovery smoothies! I think it’s safe to say we’ll plan a little smarter for next week’s long run.

Cooling off!

Cooling off!

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

