CHA CHA CHA CHIA!

Hey there!

So I wanted to talk about something new and wonderful I have discovered- chia seeds!

Chia Spongebob anyone?

Chia Spongebob anyone?

Yes, the things that sprout on chia pets. But the magic doesn’t stop there. 

Let me start from the beginning though. The other day, I was food shopping at Trader Joe’s, and on a whim, decided to get a pouch of the little seeds (I had seen some interesting recipes that called for them). I didn’t really know what to expect, but figured they’d be fun to try!

So the next day, I proceeded to add a tablespoon to my granola, banana, and almond milk breakfast. The result was pretty cool- the chia seeds started absorbing the almond milk and formed little tapioca-like balls! For some reason, this struck me as fascinating (hey, I’m a little bit of a nerd, what can I say?). So, I did a little research, and boy oh boy, chia seeds are powerful little devils!

Some fun facts about chia seeds-

  • Chia seeds are a great source of fiber, protein, calcium, antioxidants, and omega-3s
  • Omega-3s are anti-inflammatory (which is important and helpful for runners!)
  • Unlike flax seeds, chia seeds don’t need to be ground up to obtain all the nutritional goodness
  • In Christopher McDougall’s book, Born to Run, (*Disclaimer- I did not read the book, I just found this out online), the tribe of “super-runners” the author spends his time with in Mexico ate lots of chia seeds mixed with water, forming a natural kind of gel
  • Some evidence suggests chia seeds might restrict the absorption of calories by coating the stomach
  • The seeds also have satiating effects because they’re so jam-packed with good stuff. So you won’t feel hungry as quickly after eating them!
  • Chia seeds lower triglycerides and “bad” cholesterol while raising HDL and “good” cholesterol levels

Who knew those chia pets were hiding such a nutritional powerhouse in them?! I got pretty excited after finding all this info, and proceeded to try a new recipe – chocolate coconut chia pudding! (I’ll put the recipe up soon). It looks a little weird, but don’t be put off by the peculiar color! It was super delicious (and so much better knowing how healthy it is!)

DSC02733

DSC02732

The only problem was that after all my cooking (ie, experimenting), the bag of chia was almost empty!  The horror!

But luckily, at a different supermarket I found a Bob’s Red Mill version of chia seeds that came in a bigger bag, so now my supply should be set for a while.

chia3

DSC02741

You can expect me to feature lots more recipes using chia seeds in the future! Hope you enjoy ’em as much as I do!!

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

