Swim, Bike, Run, EAT

Hi again!

Triathlon training is officially in full swing.

Yesterday, my mom and I went for a swim at our local pond again. It was gorgeous- the water was warm, the birds were singing, and we pretty much had the place to ourselves. It was very serene.

Calm, tranquil swim

Calm, tranquil swim

Totally peaceful.

Totally peaceful. (I’m the speck in the middle!)

Do I have good form? No idea, but at least I'm floating!

Do I have good form? No idea, but at least I’m afloat!

Probably nothing like the swim I’m going to experience 1 week from Sunday.

Oh. My. God. What have I gotten myself into?!

Oh. My. God. What have I gotten myself into?!

BUT I REFUSE TO DWELL ON MY FEARS!

After coming home, my mom whipped up some stuffed zucchini for dinner, using a leftover stir-fry of tofu, pesto, sundried tomatoes, chicken, and onions, which we mixed with some breadcrumbs, and topped with parmesan cheese. [Recipe to come!] It was the perfect post-swim workout meal.

zuchinistuffed3

Today, I continued the triathlon training with a long bike ride. We’ve been in a heat wave for about a week so far, and the forecast was calling for a high of 99 degrees today. Absolute craziness for New England! I made the best of it by getting up at 6 am for my ride. It was great! There were next to no cars on the road that early, and I got to see at least 4 bunnies at one point on my ride! They were nibbling away at their breakfast of grass, looking super adorable. I really wanted to scoop one up to bring home to be my pet, but I resisted the urge. 

These were the bunnies I saw! At least, they bore a striking resemblance.

These were the bunnies I saw! At least, they bore a striking resemblance.

I did 15 miles total, not too shabby for someone fairly new to biking! When I was done, I was a sweaty, quivery mess. My plan is to try a “brick” workout tomorrow- meaning, I’m going to try to run after biking 8 or 9 miles to get the feel of what it’s like for my leg muscles to switch to running after biking. The best I can hope for is that my legs will adjust after 10 minutes or so of running, and I will be fine. The worst that could happen is that I fall flat on my face. So we’ll have to wait and see!

After coming back from my ride, I cooled off with a tall glass of half Gatorade/half water and a bowl of blackberries and strawberries topped with a dollop of plain Greek yogurt. Nothin’ like a little Greek yogurt to celebrate a good bike ride!

berrybreakfast1gatorade

 

 

Now I am relaxing in the air-conditioning, happy that I got my workout in before the heat of the day. You know what they say- “the early bird gets the worm!”

1 Comment

Filed under Training, Triathlon

One response to “Swim, Bike, Run, EAT

  1. Monique

    Awesome entry, Nora! Love it! Thought you might like to check out this web site for your quest to run in every state going forward:
    ESPRITdeSHE.COM
    Hope it proves useful.
    Keep up the good work in both running/training and writing!!!

Leave a Reply

