Taking a mental chill pill

Hey there 

So yesterday, as planned, I accomplished my first brick workout- a 10 mile bike ride followed by a 20 minute run (roughly 2 miles, I’m guessing).

I knew it wasn’t going to be super easy to run after biking that distance, but SERIOUSLY! OUCH. I cruised down my street after finishing up the biking portion, already mentally celebrating being almost done with the workout- a 20 minute run? EASY AS CAKE.

I traded my helmet for a baseball cap (to hide my embarrassingly sweaty hair), chugged some water, and set off. 3 minutes later, I was huffing and puffing. The mental celebration quickly changed to mentally cursing myself. I may have even questioned whether I would be able to run the full 3 miles on the actual day. The doubts were swirling, and I was not in a happy place.

After roughly 7 minutes, my legs did loosen up, and it wasn’t HORRIBLE. It sure wasn’t pleasant though. In fact, it was nowhere in the vicinity of the pleasantness spectrum. I don’t think it helped that my legs were still a little fatigued from my 15 mile ride the day before. Oops.

BUT I GOT IT DONE. I gutted out that 20 minute run, surviving to run another day! The heat was really bad again, but I think with some cooler temps on race day, I should be able to make it. I’ve already registered, so I’ve got to at least “tri” (har har har, I love me some good triathlon puns! )

In the evening, I was lucky enough to get to hang out with a couple of my girlfriends! My friend had the idea to do something a little different from our usual routine of just hanging out at each other’s houses- we went bowling. Let me just say, I am a terrible bowler. Absolutely dreadful. Thank god for the bumpers!

Here I am, about to bowl a strike! Just kidding.

Here I am, about to bowl a strike! Just kidding.

While my bowling skills leave a little something to be desired, it was pretty fun to just relax and NOT think about something triathlon/running-related for a while. Instead, I focused on my trash-talking skills.

Unfortunately, this didn’t help my game, as I lost quite soundly.

The final score... Note that I came in last.

The final score… Note that I came in last.

After the bowling, we went back to my friend’s house and made a grilled veggie pizza! Homemade pizza is a regular staple in my cooking at home, so it was fun to introduce my friend (and her family!) to my tips/tricks for a delicious (and healthier) pizza than the ones you get from fast-food restaurants.

Pizza made up for my failure as a bowler.

Pizza made up for my failure as a bowler.

All in all, it was a super fun evening, and a wonderful way to kickback from the morning’s tough workout. I feel mentally refreshed and ready for my tapering week before the big triathlon on Sunday!

2 Comments

Filed under Training, Triathlon

2 responses to “Taking a mental chill pill

  1. John Nixon

    So proud of you Nora. Nana & John.
    P.S. We are looking forward to the recipe you mentioned yesterday.

  2. Monique

    Sounds like a challenging but rewarding day, Nora! Keep up the good work!

Leave a Reply

