The Big Apple!

I’m back! 

Sorry for the little break- I was visiting my college roommate in Long Island (hi Nicole!). It was such a fun trip, and I had a blast hanging out with her and her family.

Aaaaaannd, she took me into New York City- my first time in the Big Apple! I really got the full New York experience- I rode a taxi, chatted a bit with Kelly Rippa, spotted the boys of One Direction, and got to meet Taylor Swift!!!!!

taxi

me and kelly

one D

taylor and me

Well… not really.  But, we did go to Madame Tussaud’s Wax Museum in Times Square so it was almost the same thing. I also took a pic with N’Sync (I’m not ashamed to admit I’ve got a few of their songs in my running playlist!)

me and nsync

The hustle and bustle of New York was sooo different to me! I have been in cities before, but New York was bigger, louder, and brighter! I probably looked like the ultimate tourist, craning my neck to look up at all the skyscrapers surrounding me.

DSC02944

I also got to experience delicious Long Island style pizza and bagels, which really were pretty awesome. As a student at a New York college, I have listened to an extensive amount of bragging about the wonders of Long Island bagels and pizza (and I always wondered to myself if they were all that special). Well, both the bagels and pizza lived up to the hype!

I also got to see Despicable Me 2 on the trip, and it was hilarious. Seriously, if you haven’t seen this movie, go see it. I have become a big fan of minions- anyone know where I can get one? 

minion

I came home Saturday evening, and got back into my running Sunday morning with a beautiful mid-distance run of just under 7 miles. The weather has been feeling really fall-ish lately. It’s been great for running, but I don’t want the summer warmth to disappear just yet!

sunday aug 13

This week, I’m hoping to squeeze in one last long run before the half-marathon on Saturday (8/10). The course for this one is going to be interesting (aka hilly), but more on that later!

 

Leave a comment

Filed under Vacation

Leave a Reply

