A Look Back At Summer ’13

Happy Friday to you! 

Given that I will be leaving for school a week from today (eek!), I wanted to do a post looking back on the summer. It’s been an incredible past few months for me, and I want to take a moment to look back at the journey. As part of the commemorative aspect of this post, I did a photo shoot today of the new t-shirts I acquired this summer. There’s a lot of ‘em!

May– I came home from school in mid-May, and immediately start cooking and eating healthier. I begin browsing the internet for food and fitness inspiration and discover the wide world of health blogs! I’m hooked right from the start. At the end of May, I begin work as a head camp counselor at a track and field camp.

As a gift for being a head coach, I received this stylish, collared tech tee!

As a gift for being a head coach, I received this stylish, collared tech tee!

June- After playing around with the idea for a while, I take the leap and start my own blog! Adventures of A Mother-Daughter Running Duo officially opens on WordPress. I run a 5K in pouring rain and my iPod does not survive. I also run the “Lowell is Boston Strong” 5K.

The Boston Strong T-shirt is one of my faves from the summer

The Boston Strong T-shirt is one of my faves from the summer

July- My mom and I take a mini-vacation to Boothbay Maine and have many adventures. After returning, we run the “Berna’s Great Legs” 5K and place second in the Mother-Daughter Division. Go us!! 

Berna's Great Legs t-shirt

Berna’s Great Legs t-shirt

A few days later, we tackle the Shipyard Old Port Half-Marathon and learn firsthand how much heat/humidity impacts running performance. We survive despite the horrid weather. We have 2 shirts from this one- they were selling a different design on the day of the race, and my mom and I couldn’t resist!

Look what happens when Brady realizes he's missing out on photo-shoot fun!

Look what happens when Brady realizes he’s missing out on photo-shoot fun!

 

The shirts we decided to buy!

The shirts we decided to buy!

shipyard_4

Two weeks later, I do my first triathlon!!!

Wild Cat Sprint Triathlon t-shirt!

Wild Cat Sprint Triathlon t-shirt!

August- I visit my college roommate in NY. A week later, my mom and I run the Monadnock Half Marathon, crossing off the state of NH!

Does this shade of green look familiar? It should- it's exactly the same as the Berna's Great Legs tee!

Does this shade of green look familiar? It should- it’s exactly the same as the Berna’s Great Legs tee!

I also wanted to share some favorite new accessories I acquired this summer!

First off, my lovely new iPod Nano and slap-bracelet running case. It holds my iPod perfectly while I run, but also allows me to press buttons easily (unlike those armbands).

New iPod and running case!

New iPod and running case!

ipod_2

Secondly, my Boothbay baseball cap with a dog on it. The dog bears a striking resemblance to Keeper, thus increasing its awesome-ness by a factor of 1,000!

boothbay hat1

Thirdly, my glamorous new shades- bought in NYC for $5. Gotta love a bargain!

sunglasses1

Lastly, my super cute “running bear” bracelet my mom made for me (she has a matching one in a lighter shade of green!). My mom decided the bear looked like it could run fast and that it would bring us speedier times. I agree. 

bear bracelet1

I think it’s safe to say it’s been a busy summer? I’m so proud of all my mom and I have accomplished in these short 3 months, and I’M SO EXCITED FOR WHAT’S TO COME!!  Bring on the fall- new challenges, new faces, and so many NEW ADVENTURES! It’s gonna be good.

3 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

3 responses to “A Look Back At Summer ’13

  1. John Nixon

    Hi Nora, we look forward to your blog posts this fall while at school. And good luck at school. Nana & John

  2. Monique

    Bonjour from France, Nora!
    What a summer and what an accomplishment!!! So glad you are happy with the results of this venture!
    Best of everything as you return to school and new happenings!! You have really been an inspiration. You chose a goal and showed that hard work and discipline can be rewarding AND fun!
    See you soon!
    Love,
    Monique XO

Leave a Reply

