Dynamic Duo 5k!

I have so much to report about last night’s 5K! 

The turnout was pretty impressive, I’m not gonna lie. Some of the runners in attendance included Batman, Superman, Wonder-Woman, Betty and Wilma from the Flintstones, and a couple of other devious-looking creatures. 

 

despicableus2

Confused?

minion

How ‘bout now?

Yes, that’s right! My mom and I went as minions from Despicable Me! You may remember the affection I expressed for these little guys after seeing Despicable Me 2. Well, with a little imagination and the help of my mom’s sewing skills, we were able to whip up a minion-style running outfit!

despicableus1

The extra shirt/bib was a little warm to run in, given that a little late-summer heat and humidity have come our way, but despite this, my mom and I did our best to be FAST-RUNNING minions. I was really hoping to end the summer 5K season by catching my PR of 23:46, and my mom was also hoping to break hers.

Minion 1 on the Run!

Minion 1 on the Run!

Minion 2 cruisin' by!

Minion 2 cruisin’ by!

We both ran fast, and maybe if temps had been a little cooler, we might’ve had it, but alas, it was not to be.  I was still pretty happy with how I ran- a 7:46 min/mile pace for a final time of 24:07. I was working super hard to maintain this pace in the warm weather, and in my heart of hearts, I know I could not have pushed myself any faster, so I’m not disappointed. My mom ended up finishing in 26:40, and also missed her PR by roughly 20 seconds.

Drinking a little water after the finish!

Drinking a little water after the finish!

BUT, the competition was not over yet!! That’s right, there was still the costume contest.

We were quite a Despicable Duo!

We were quite a Despicable Duo!

Now, I have to say, not a whole lot of people dressed up for this race (costumes were optional. Next year, they really should make them mandatory, in my opinion!). But, like I mentioned earlier, there were some runners who did get into it. Two runners from our running club dressed as Betty and Wilma. Which would not seem particularly odd, except that “Betty” was, in this case, a man. For that kind of dedication, they got first place in the costume contest. Second place went to a couple dressed as Wonder-Woman and Superman, and third place…?

*Drum roll please…………*

THE MINIONS FROM DESPICABLE ME! YAYYYY!

After receiving our third-place victory!

After receiving our third-place victory!

Our prize consisted of 2 packs of Zevia zero calorie soda and a pack of glowsticks. A slightly random prize? Most certainly. But, a girl can never have too many glowsticks, right?! And the Ginger Root Beer flavored Zevia isn’t too bad! A slightly strange aftertaste, but I’m still enjoying it. Everything tastes better when you’ve won it!

despicableus9

 

What’s the best costume you’ve ever raced in? What’s the best costume you’ve WITNESSED at a race?

3 Comments

Filed under Races

3 responses to “Dynamic Duo 5k!

  1. Rick

    You guys are great!

  2. AHHH THAT’S AWESOME! haha I absolutely love the Minion costumes 🙂

Leave a Reply

