Run For Another (My First Review!)

Hi again! 

I’m very excited for today’s post because I’ll be doing a product review on an up-and-coming running apparel brand with an incredible mission.

Have you heard of Janji?

janji resized

Janji was founded by Mike Burnstein and Dave Spandorfer. As collegiate track and field athletes, the two knew that runners as a whole are a pretty friendly and philanthropic bunch – think about it, we show our support to countless charities through running races, not to mention all the donations and/or other purchases we make to support those good causes!

As runners we are also pretty darn focused on hydration and nutrition, but there are many people in the world who even in the 21st century still do not have the luxury of clean water and plentiful food. Something had to be done.

Thus, Janji was born. Their website explains,

“Through each purchase of Janji’s distinctive running apparel, a portion of proceeds funds organizations that are alleviating the worst problems related to food and water.  By funding solutions and raising awareness through our apparel, Janji wants to create a nation of runners that run for another and eliminate the global food and water crisis.”

The word “Janji” is Malay for “promise”. By purchasing Janji apparel, you are promising to Run For Another (the brand’s motto!). Pretty cool, huh? 

I was lucky enough to receive a discount on one of Janji’s newest shirts in exchange for reviewing it on the blog! After spending a LONG time perusing all the cool designs and brightly colored tops they have on their website, I finally settled on the Women’s Kenya Elephant T-shirt.

The country of Kenya is actually very special to me because I got to travel there as a baby. Though I was too young to remember anything about the trip, I always enjoy listening to the stories my parents tell about it.

in kenya

(I’m the blond one in the photo. )

By purchasing this shirt, a growing season’s worth of water is provided to a Kenyan family. So every time I wear it, I will think of that family, and know that I was able to help them, even if it was only in a small way.

shirt3

When the shirt finally arrived in the mail, I COULD NOT wait to test it out! The fabric is incredibly soft and the red stitching contrasts with the green of the shirt in a gorgeous way. It also has a really flattering v-neck. Heck, it’s such a cool shirt I’ll probably be wearing it to my classes and not just for runs!

shirt1

shirt5

shirt4

I finally tried it out yesterday when I ran the Ramon Rocha 5k. Ramon Rocha was a humanitarian and the driving force behind the establishment of the Teresa House and several other local charities, so it seemed fitting to wear my Janji shirt for the first time at this event.

It was a cool fall morning, and it felt absolutely perfect for running! I went with a couple of friends, and ran with them most of the way.

The start of the race! (Photo Credits to North Street Studios)

The start of the race!
(Photo Credits to North Street Studios)

I wanted to relax and have fun with this 5k, so I didn’t push myself too hard. Instead, I just reveled in the happy atmosphere of excited runners.

Running with a few friends! (Photo Credits to North Street Studios)

Running with a few friends!
(Photo Credits to North Street Studios)

(Photo Credits to North Street Studios)

(Photo Credits to North Street Studios)

I finished 52nd, with a time of 26:02. Then, I ate some delicious apple crisp (one of the best foods fall races can serve!), listened to a little live music, and headed home.

My Janji shirt was soft and amazingly comfortable to run in, and I know it is going to become one of my absolute faves. Knowing the good cause behind it just makes it that much more special.  I would highly recommend Janji to anyone looking for some new running clothes for the fall – you definitely will not be disappointed!

Overall,  it was a great start to the fall racing season and an awesome Saturday!

3 Comments

Filed under Races, Reviews

3 responses to “Run For Another (My First Review!)

  1. Rick Cooper

    I’m trying to picture an elephant running….

  2. What an awesome company! I might have to check that out!

Leave a Reply

