Fall Break!

Hello again! 

happy fall break

Sorry I haven’t posted in a while; I’ve been toying with a lot of ideas, but never got around to actually posting anything. Oops. BUT, with no classes for Columbus Day weekend, I’ve had a little extra time on my hands, yay!

For the break, I’m staying at my aunt’s, rather than travel all the way home. While I miss my family and my dogs (check out this adorable picture of Brady and Keeper frolicking!), it has been wonderful to get away from campus for a bit.

photo (22)

On Friday, I got lunch with my aunt and then tried to go for a little 3-mile run around the neighborhood.

(Don't I look a little worried?)

(Don’t I look a little worried?)

With the leaves crunching under my feet and the wonderful breeze, it SHOULD have been a great run. Not so much. The Indian food I’d had for lunch sat heavily in my stomach, and I cramped up.  Ugh… I kind of knew that was going to happen, but I really wanted to get the run in.

Yesterday was another beautiful fall day, and we decided to take advantage of it! My aunt, uncle, cousin and I packed a picnic and went to a nearby ski mountain where we rode the chair lift up to the top to see the foliage. Even though the leaves haven’t completely changed what with all the warm weather there has been recently, it was still gorgeous.

Waiting in line to go up

Waiting in line to go up

mount2

some of the trees we passed on the way up had bras and beads dangling from them... not sure what the story is with that!

some of the trees we passed on the way up had bras and beads dangling from them… not sure what the story is with that!

My uncle and cousin on the chairlift!

mount9

Me and my cousin Paige after our picnic at the top-

mount5

Check out how blue the sky was!

mount7

 

mount8

On the way back, we stopped at the mall, where I eased my school-stress with a little retail therapy!  I didn’t go crazy actually, I just needed a couple pairs of jeans. Still, I love shopping (I can’t help it!), and I hadn’t been since going back to school at the end of August, so it was pretty nice.

When we got back, my aunt and I made some pumpkin cupcakes with cream cheese frosting for dessert. YUM…

pumpkin cupcake

cupcake2

Today, I played catch-up on some schoolwork. This was much easier after the mental refresher I had yesterday! So far, it’s been a great break. 

Did you do anything fun/fall-related for the long weekend?

What yummy pumpkin goodies have you snacked on recently?

Leave a comment

Filed under School

Leave a Reply

