Settling into the New Routine

Hey there! 

So the past week and a half have been a little hectic with trying to sort out schedule changes, work shifts, and getting back into the flow of school. But I’m back again!

Now that things are starting to settle down, I’m excited to really get going with my routine.  Our next half-marathon (in Virginia Beach, so pumped to visit there!) is only about 7 weeks away. Which is super cool, but also a little scary.  I need to start planning out my long runs, and I’m going to have to be focused and dedicated to getting them in. If I don’t, this race might not be so pretty.

routine

Given the winters in upstate New York, running outside isn’t really an option right now. The highs lately have been hovering in the teens or even lower, and snow and ice are pretty much permanently coating the sidewalks. Not ideal for running.  Luckily, I do have access to an indoor track at my school! It’s small, and I feel a bit like a hamster in a cage, going around and around on that track, but I much prefer it to slipping and sliding outside.

Food-wise, I’ve been having fun experimenting a little lately! I’ve been playing around with different flavors of overnight oats. I generally use vanilla greek yogurt, 1/4 cup old-fashioned oats, a tablespoon of chia, and then whatever flavor I want. I’ve had it with peanut butter, which is delicious. This morning though, I tried a raspberry version by mixing in a couple of spoonfuls of raspberry jam.

Raspberry Overnight Oats

Raspberry Overnight Oats

raspberry overnight oats2

It was great! This breakfast keeps me full a long time too, and the chia seeds pack a powerful nutritional punch. Dinners have been a lot of stir-fries of frozen veggies, tofu-meat, and salads. I don’t have any pictures currently, but those are on the way!

With Super Bowl Sunday fast approaching, I’m hoping to try out some new recipes as well! There’s nothing quite like hanging out with good friends, watching some football, and eating delicious food, is there? Do you have any Super Bowl recipes you swear by? 

1 Comment

Filed under Food, School, Training

One response to “Settling into the New Routine

  1. John Nixon

    We are glad to be receiving your blogs again, we missed them. The blog your mother posted last week was great too. John & Nana.

Leave a Reply

