Challenges

Hey there! 

Happy belated Valentines Day! I hope everyone had a good day with their loved ones.

I realize it’s been a while since I last posted. Truthfully, I’ve been struggling with my training a bit, and it’s been frustrating. The weather has really just not been cooperating.

Another snowstorm...

Another snowstorm…

Brady doesn't mind the snow!

Brady doesn’t mind the snow!

As the view from my porch shows, we had yet another snowstorm last week, and the roads were AGAIN coated with snow.  This has proved to be a real problem in terms of getting my long runs in. I’ve been trying to follow the training plan that my mom and I have always used for our previous half marathons, but I think I’m just going to have to sort of improvise my training on this one. While I am lucky that I have access to my school’s indoor track, it’s really just not practical to try to run 8-10 miles on a 200 meter track. So earlier in the week I was getting pretty upset with myself, the weather, etc…

take a breath

After talking to my mom on the phone about my struggles, I felt much better. I’m hoping to get in a couple of 10 mile runs closer to the race date, when the weather will hopefully be a little warmer, and the sidewalks won’t be slippery messes! But really, the Shamrock Half Marathon is going to be about having fun.  I’ll be on spring break and the race will be an early birthday present for me! Will it be my fastest half marathon? Probably not. But I have plenty of other races to PR in, when I won’t be fighting the weather.

I have been trying to keep up with my resolution to cross-train more.

Time for planks!

Time for planks!

I’ve been doing my pilates tapes more. It’s great to be able to get in a solid workout from my own room, without having to trek to the gym! Maybe some of this cross-training will make up for me missing some runs? I hope anyway.

I’ve also been experimenting with smoothies again. This was a tasty one that I had for breakfast the other day –

smoothieDelicious! So my plan going forward is to do my best to keep positive, cross-train, get in runs as weather permits, and trust in myself that it will all work out. 

 

3 Comments

Filed under School, Training, Uncategorized

3 responses to “Challenges

  1. cooperrp@comcast.net

    Hang in there, Nora!

  2. JimG

    Keep slogging through it, Nora! You and Maman can do it. She’s having to slog through the same sloppy mess here for her runs. She got splashed with slush by passing cars this past weekend during a 10+ miler.
    -Papa

  3. Kate Cooper

    Yeah. Upstate NY in the winter. Not a good time for runners, I’m sure. Keep on chugging, though. I love hearing about what you and mom are doing.

Leave a Reply

