Half Marathons and Portobello Pizzas

Hello again!

After a bit of experimenting, I’m proud to say that Adventures of a Mother-Daughter Running Duo is now on Instagram! Now you can follow along with me on ALL forms of social media.   I’m excited to share some fun photos, and stay more in-touch with the blog, even while out and about.

On that note, I’m happy to announce that there is already another big race on the calendar for my mom and I. We will be running the Runners World Heartbreak Half Marathon in Boston in June (!!!). As I mentioned in my post on the Shamrock Half Marathon, my mom and I LOVE Runners World magazine – the recipes, the training tips, the inspiring running stories – all of it! And we really enjoyed the talk we heard by Bart Yasso on the joys of running. In his speech, he talked a little about his friend Sarah Reinertsen, the first woman to finish the Ironman triathlon (2.4 mile swim, 112-mile bike ride, 26.2 mile run) with a prosthetic leg (next time I complain about running in the snow, remind me to suck it up.). Sarah is the keynote speaker at the Heartbreak Half, and after learning a bit more about her, my mom and I were beyond excited to register to hear her talk about her experiences.

sarah rein_resize

The Heartbreak Half should be a really fun intro to the racing season this summer, and I look forward to getting some training runs in as the weather starts to warm up again (it’s supposed to be 60 degrees tomorrow!).

I also thought I would share a few of the tasty meals I’ve cooked up recently since I haven’t posted about that in a while. The other night I made these delicious Portobello pizzas.

portobello pizza

So good, except they came out a bit soggy. If you’re going to try doing something along this lines, I definitely recommend washing your mushrooms at least 2 hours beforehand, and then letting them drain wrapped in some paper towels. I was hungry and didn’t want to wait, so a lot of that moisture came out when they cooked and it was a bit messy. I put artichokes and sundried tomatoes on them along with red sauce and cheese, but you could really get creative and put whatever toppings on you prefer! Then, just 12 minutes in the oven at 400 degrees.

Tonight I had a spinach wrap with a sautéed veggie burger, lettuce, tomato, and topped off with a little bruschetta.

wrap dinner

Good eats. 

Do you have any fun twists on pizza recipes that you swear by? Any exciting races on the calendar?

Leave a comment

Filed under Food

Leave a Reply

