Easter and Boston Strong

Hi there! 

I apologize for the long wait between posts again. I had a big term paper due yesterday, and I found myself needing to devote all of my time to that, but I handed it in this morning, and NOW I’M FREE! 

easter

First of all, I hope everyone had a happy Easter! I went to Syracuse to spend the holiday with my boyfriend and had a great time. On Saturday, we went to the zoo, and I had a blast! I was like a little kid fawning over all the cute animals. It was a perfect day for it too, sunny with a little breeze.

I was pretty psyched to see elephants!

I was pretty psyched to see elephants!

phone convo

Hehehe. This was my conversation with my mom when I texted her a picture of the elephants! 

Hey I found Nemo!

Hey I found Nemo!

The lions were being super lazy, napping in the sunshine.

The lions were being super lazy, napping in the sunshine.

The tiger wanted to play though!

The tiger wanted to play though!

Secondly, a huge congratulations to everyone who ran in the Boston Marathon yesterday, especially my runner friends in the Squannacook River Runners Club and the 48 runners from my town who competed yesterday! Last year’s race still stands out in my memory – where I was standing in the college union when I found out there had been an attack, my immediate fear for my friends going to school in Boston and for the runners I knew who were there. To my relief, no one I knew was hurt, but it was still a gut-wrenching and frightening experience to realize that something like that could occur in a city I loved and around an activity as peaceful as running.

But boy oh boy, did Boston show the world the meaning of Boston Strong yesterday! Nearly 36,000 runners competed, making it one of the biggest field sizes ever. And an American won for the men’s division for the first time since 1983! Meb Keflezighi took first for the men with an incredible time of 2 hours, 8 minutes and 37 seconds (so roughly twice as fast as me .). The winner of the women’s division, Rita Jeptoo, set a course record, running the 26.2 miles in 2 hours, 18 minutes and 57 seconds. But really, anyone who ran yesterday was a champion (no matter their finishing time) and truly showed what it means to be Boston Strong.

boston strong graphic

1 Comment

Filed under Races, Vacation

One response to “Easter and Boston Strong

  1. John Nixon

    Nora we look forward to your blogs. You have talent girl!
    John & Nana

Leave a Reply

