The Iron Horse Half and Other News…

Hey there!

My mom and I are starting to get very excited. We are only three short days away from crossing off the state of Connecticut! We will have to depart our house at the lovely hour of 4 AM, but hey, that means no traffic, RIGHT?! It’s going to be one for the books, that’s for sure. 

CT

To keep our legs active (but not tired), my mom and I took Brady on a 4 mile walk today around a nearby lake. The past two days were downright cold, in the low sixties and rainy, so the sunshine today was a nice change! I think Brady appreciated it too. 

brady walk collage

In other news, we had a new kitchen tool arrive in the mail today! We got a spiralizer, and I am beyond excited to start spiralizing every vegetable/fruit in sight! I learned about spiralizers after coming across the blog, Inspiralized. Basically, it’s a tool that allows you to make noodles and curly shavings out of pretty much any vegetable you want! Zucchini, sweet potato, cucumber, carrot, apple – you can spiralize them all! I find that it’s way too simple for me to overeat when it comes to pasta, so I’m really looking forward to exploring some quasi-pasta in the form of zucchini noodles!

spiralizer

While we’re on the subject of cooking, if you’ve been poking around the links for my recipes lately, you might have noticed a few changes – I’ve been going through, and slowly trying to update my food pics. I’ll admit when I first started this blog, I knew nothing about taking pictures of the food I cooked. I didn’t understand lighting, I didn’t know all the handy tools there are online for editing them (I am obsessed with Picmonkey now), and I just didn’t know how to make them look like they actually tasted good. I still don’t have a fancy camera to take my food photos – I just use my iPhone – but I am starting to understand all the careful thought and preparation that has to go into taking a good photo. Just what you wanna do when you’re starving and the food is right there in front of you… 

pineapple coleslaw redone!

cinnabunNEW3

(A couple of recipes where I improved my photos already!)

It’s definitely been a learning process, and I’m still learning. But one of my missions for this summer is to go back through these old recipes, make them again, and really try to take some stunning photos this time around. I want to make these recipes look as delicious as they taste! So stay tuned for those!

Wish us luck for our race on Sunday! And look out for the Race Recap coming after! 🙂

<a href=”http://www.bloglovin.com/blog/10240225/?claim=m3yedngbads”>Follow my blog with Bloglovin</a>

1 Comment

Filed under Food, Uncategorized

One response to “The Iron Horse Half and Other News…

  1. Patty

    Marie and Nora, have fun on Sunday! Can’t wait for an update. Good luck with the 4am departure!!

Leave a Reply

