Important Updates and a Waffle-tastic Run

Hello again!

Hope everyone is having a good weekend so far!

Last week, we had dinner with some family friends, and finally presented our biggest fan with his “prize”-

Our biggest fan with his Heartbreak Hill Half Marathon Shirt!

Hope you’re enjoying the shirt Mr. C.!

Another important update- remember how I said I couldn’t get my mom to run the full marathon with me in Rochester in September? Well… THAT IS NO LONGER THE CASE!! After some registration-transfer finagling, she is signed up to run the full 26.2 with me! Woo!! So we are both in training mode now.

This week was a little hard for me. I ran on Tuesday after the Mad Half and definitely had shin splints, as well as pain in the top of my foot right above the joint before my big toe. From some online googling (the most reliable source for medical diagnoses, I know), I think I have a case of sesamoiditis.

Sesame-WHAT?!

Turns out, there are two bones at the joint above your big toe that act kind of like ball bearings in your foot. Over the course of a run, they undergo tremendous stress, AND hills can make that even worse. Imagine that. The treatment for both sesamoiditis and shin splints is just icing, rest, and anti-inflammatory meds like ibuprofen.

So, I iced after my run Tuesday and hoped for the best. Our training plan called for a 7-miler on Wednesday, which I knew was going to be tough. Honestly, I went into the run in a very negative place, expecting the pain, and that is exactly what I got. It was the worst run I’ve had in a long time, filled with walk-breaks, frustration, and self-pity. Yeah, not pretty. 😦

I did do the full seven miles though because I’m stubborn like that.

After that run, I decided to give myself a couple of days to rest and ice, hoping that things would feel better in time for this weekend’s 15 mile long run. Best decision I’ve ever made.

Today, my mom and I ran 15 miles, the longest distance we have EVER run. My shin splints were completely gone, although I definitely still have the sesamoiditis, which became increasingly uncomfortable over the course of the run.

Marathon Training Recap

My frame of mind going into this run was a 180 degree change from Tuesday’s run though. I felt rested, and I was excited to run further than I ever had before. Sure, I was a little nervous about my foot and my shins, but I also felt determined. With this new mindset, I was able to run 15 miles more easily than I ran 7. That’s the nature of running sometimes though. You have to go in with a good attitude (and a sense of humor).

Our aid station

We set up a little aid station for ourselves on our front stoop, complete with Gatorade, water, and sunscreen. At the 10-mile mark, we got this exciting message when we stopped by for a water break/pit stop.

aid 2

Well if that didn’t motivate us to go run those last 5 miles, I don’t know what did! 🙂

waffle breakfast

It helped that the last 5 miles really only felt like 2.5 because we did an out-and-back loop, and then before we knew it, we had passed the 13.1 mark (the longest we’ve ever run), and made it to 15!!!

Our stomachs were a little iffy at first so we had to wait to eat those amazing waffles, but I made us a couple of smoothies while we waited and stretched.

Berry Smoothie

I put in a handful of frozen raspberries, blackberries, a banana, a scoop of chocolate protein powder, plus a teaspoon of unsweetened cocoa powder, and some chocolate chips to round it all out. Super yummy!

And then there were the long-awaited waffles!

waffles, yum!

My waffles

I topped mine with 1/2 a sliced banana, a dash of cinnamon, and some maple syrup.

Now I want to find a race that offers waffles as the post-race food, because this was FANTASTIC and how no one seems to have caught on to this as a post-race food, I just cannot understand.

So, a busy, run-filled day… Hope you had a wonderful Saturday!

 

3 Comments

Filed under Food, Marathon, Training

3 responses to “Important Updates and a Waffle-tastic Run

  1. cooperrp@comcast.net

    Pretty exciting that your mom is going to train for Rochester with you. Really wish we could be there.

    Very sorry to hear about your training injuries and hope you recover quickly.

    Thanks again for the cool shirt!

    -rc

  2. Jim

    Waffles also go well with bacon.
    Please remember that without the letter “W,” waffles would be just awful!
    -Jim
    National Association of W Lovers

  3. Kate Cooper

    Love how you make your food photos into art, e.g. the smoothie with a daisy. Perhaps an alternate career?

Leave a Reply

