A New Smoothie Plus Injury Updates

Happy Hump Day everyone! 🙂

Firstly, if you didn’t see it, yesterday I published a new smoothie to our Recipe section here, so check it out if you haven’t already!

Delicious and refreshing strawberries n' cream smoothie

So. Good. Get the recipe here.

I just wanted to do a quick post today to let you all know about some further developments in the marathon training.

As I mentioned in my last post, I’ve been having some pain in the top of my foot, around the joint of my big toe lately. It hurt A LOT at the end of our 15-miler on Saturday, and it bothered me again on my pesky little 4 mile run earlier this week. My mom and I decided it would probably be better to get this checked out sooner rather than later, as the mileage is only going to continue to ratchet up from here, and if there is a problem, better to figure it out now.

So on Monday, I went to the doctors and got my foot X-rayed. The good news is, no broken bones or fractures! But we still don’t really know what the cause of the pain is exactly (maybe sesamoiditis, but who knows really…). I have an appointment to see an orthopedist next week though, so we’re hoping that will shed more light on the situation.

I took today off from running, and did a few FitnessBlender workouts from Youtube. I did 3 different workouts, one for arms, one for thighs, and abs. I really can’t recommend these workouts more highly! Short enough to be manageable and not overly intimidating, but also challenging enough to leave me sweaty and sore! I might try to sneak in some short runs this week, just 2-3 miles and see how my foot feels, but if the pain persists, I’ll be sticking to these workout videos for now. Our long run this weekend is supposed to be 13 miles, which wouldn’t be too scary except for this darn injury! So I’m not sure yet whether or not I’ll be running that distance.

Anyways, just wanted to let you all know. I’ve had the good fortune of not being a very injury-prone runner up to this point, so I’m hopeful that this will work itself out, and I’ll be back to my regular marathon training in no time! 🙂

Ever had a foot or running injury?

5 Comments

Filed under Marathon, Training

5 responses to “A New Smoothie Plus Injury Updates

  1. cooperrp@comcast.net

    Just a bump on the road. Hope your toe heals fast!

  2. Jan

    Bummer on the injury!! I hope you figure out the problem and it heals up quickly!! Have you read Anatomy for Runners? That was really eye-opening for me when it comes to injury.

  3. dgobs

    I hope your foot heals quickly, whatever is plaguing it!

    I’m still easing back from a torn tendon in my ankle. Running injuries are so frustrating because they seem to take so long to heal and you just want to get back out there! Especially once it heals enough… it’s hard to take it slow and adjust to the fact that you’re not as far along in your training as you were pre-injury. Hopefully your foot is nothing major!

Leave a Reply

