My Crazy Foot and Some Workout Recaps

Hello again!

Hope everyone is having a great weekend so far!

This week was a little crazy for me with work, physical therapy, and squeezing in workouts at the gym. Before I dive into some training recaps, here’s a summary of things I learned about my funky, injured foot at physical therapy:

  • I have high arches
  • …But unlike most people with high arches, I still overpronate (which means turning your foot inward excessively before pushing off, and to quote Wikipedia, “Those who overpronate tend to push off almost completely from the big toe and second toe.” Yep, that sounds familiar…
  • This is unusual because most people with high arches tend to underpronate. What can I say, my foot marches to the beat of its own drum. (Foot pun… Sorry I couldn’t help it)
  • On my left foot, the metatarsal of my big toe doesn’t line up with my smaller toes, instead going down at an angle, so that my big toe droops below my other toes, even when my foot is completely relaxed.
  • And apparently I have weak hips.

So in summary, if you were ever wondering about Β weird little abnormalities you might have, go to a physical therapist, and they’ll have a lot of fun telling you. πŸ˜‰ But, I did get a bunch of instructions for some stretches and was told I need new running sneakers (awesome… The pair I was wearing were only two weeks old.)

Despite the fact that I am not running right now, I’m doing my best to maintain my fitness by going to the gym. On Wednesday, I tried my first Group Power Β class (aka strength-training).

First Group Power class at the gymIt was an hour-long full body workout with lots of squats, overhead presses, bicep curls and tricep extensions. My muscles were burning when I finished this workout, and I was sore for two days after! But hey, that’s the sign of a good workout, so I’ll definitely be going to more of these!

Today, I tried a cardio class, which was also a lot of fun. It was a lot of hopping, shuffling, jumping, squatting, stepping, etc… πŸ™‚ I was dripping when the class ended, and then I did another 40 minute hill workout on the bike to top it off.

Biking to maintain fitness while injured

Another solid workout. My mom ran long today, this time running 18 miles!! Even though I’m injured right now and am not running with her, I still want to share some reflections on the marathon training, so I asked her to write up a little description of how things are going. πŸ™‚

Thoughts on Marathon Training

The last two weeks have been the first of the “really” long runs, at 17 and 18 miles. I admit that at first, the thought of 17 miles was pretty daunting. But somehow, I got through it feeling pretty good.

Nora and I have been doing a version of the popular Galloway method: running one mile, then walking a minute, and repeating this for however many miles. This got me through 18 miles today in about 3 hours, 14 minutes (about a 10:49/mi. pace). I’m not sure if this will work for all 26 miles, but so far I have felt pretty good for both the 17 and 18 mile runs, and I’m not crawling around the house afterwards! That’s a pretty nice added bonus. πŸ™‚

More surprising to me is that this method seems to allow me to be rested enough that my mental outlook has improved, so that I am able to remain positive during the last few miles, something that has been very difficult for me in the past. After 15 miles, I can get a little whiny. πŸ˜‰

But I’m missing my running partner and hoping that we can get back to running as a Duo as soon as possible!

 

 

4 Comments

Filed under Marathon, Training

4 responses to “My Crazy Foot and Some Workout Recaps

  1. John Nixon

    We feel like we are right there with you. Keep us in the loop!

  2. Will do John! It’s great to know you and Nana are rooting for us! πŸ™‚

  3. Awesome job getting the high mileagle done! Also sorry your foot is not cooperating with letting you run… you will get there!

Leave a Reply

