20 Miles

Happy weekend everyone! πŸ™‚

I am very excited to say that two days ago, I ran further than I ever have before.

20 Mile Training Run Accomplished.

That’s right! I successfully got through my 20 mile training run! It wasn’t easy, but I did it. The night before, I was feeling the nerves. I tried to prepare myself mentally, downloading a few new songs, laying out my clothes, and even going to bed early. That didn’t end up helping very much, as I tossed and turned for several hours before finally falling asleep, where I proceeded to have nightmares about oversleeping and missing the run. I thought that was only supposed to happen before races!

Finally, my alarm went off, and I was up. I was aiming to start running at 7 am, both to beat the heat and because I had class in the afternoon. I had a cup of coffee and read a couple of race recaps from other running blogs to psych myself up. πŸ™‚

Then, I headed out. My plan was to run the same 5 mile loop 4 times. It’s a strategy my mom and I have used before for long runs, and it really helped me to think of it as simply 4 loops, rather than 20 miles. I also stuck to the Galloway method my mom and I have been using for these longer runs – run a mile, walk a minute. That definitely helped me keep my pace consistent after I had already run 15 miles, and my legs started to fatigue.

On my second of the 4 loops, I took advantage of one of my walking breaks to take a picture of this incredible sky.

Marathon training

I couldn’t believe it when I saw it. It just felt like a good omen. πŸ™‚ I guess it must have been, because I kept running my loops, and my foot cooperated wonderfully! I’m not going to say it didn’t hurt at all to run this far though. By the end, my right hip felt pretty terrible, but I think that’s because I was running on the edge of a canted road for long stretches, so my legs were landing at uneven heights. At least I know in the marathon I won’t have to worry about this, as the roads will be closed and we’ll be able to run smack-dab in the middle!

I’m beyond ecstatic that I was able to run this distance, especially given how off-track my training got because of my EHL strain. Now, it’s time for some medium tapering runs (my long run this coming week will be a tiny 8 miles! Woo!), and then the big day. Wish me luck!

2 Comments

Filed under Marathon, Training

2 responses to “20 Miles

  1. Kate Cooper

    Congratulations! Your perseverance is really admirable.

  2. John Nixon

    We are overjoyed that you were able to complete your 20 mile practice run. We are pulling for you. Nana & John

Leave a Reply

