Prepping For the Marathon (5 Days!)

Hello again!

Sorry that I’ve been MIA for almost a week, I had my first exam of the semester yesterday and I wanted it to be a successful one so I was prepping for that! 🙂

I cannot believe that this Sunday I will finally be running the Rochester Marathon alongside my mom. After so many months of ups and downs, I am incredibly grateful to be feeling healthy and to have happy feet.

Yes, I am essentially a dancing penguin right now. 😉

This week, I have a few short runs planned to keep my legs fresh without tiring them out for Sunday. Today, I did a nice, easy 3 miles that felt spectacular in the cooler weather that’s setting in.

Running happy in cooler fall temps

When I got back from my run, I decided to refuel with a new smoothie recipe.

Ingredients for my key lime smoothie

Key Lime Smoothie

It was delicious! I also added a few drops of lime juice to pump up the tanginess. It was the perfect refreshing treat for after a run, and I was in heaven. 🙂

In what spare time I’ve had, I have also been reading up on last minute tips for the marathon. Here’s a few things I’ve learned and am planning to try:

  • Pack some cozy, loose sweats to change into after the race. When you stop running after going for 26.2 miles, you cool off FAST, but you want to be comfortable enough to enjoy the post-race festivities.
  • Turn off your music at the start/finish of the race. This lets you soak up all the excitement and spectator support. Running a marathon is such a huge accomplishment and you really want to be able to take it all in. 🙂
  • If you can, arrange to get a massage later in the day. While there might be massages offered at the finish, the lines get so long that it can be a little impractical. I’m very excited for the massages my mom and I have scheduled at a local spa!
  • Add some new, exciting music to your playlist in the days leading up to the race. There’s nothing like a new song that you haven’t yet heard a billion times to pump you up while you’re out on the course.

If you have any tips for a first-time marathoner, I’d love to hear them! Have a great week!

9 Comments

Filed under Food, Marathon, Training

9 responses to “Prepping For the Marathon (5 Days!)

  1. Hmmm, my advice would be “proper pacing prevents poor performance”!

    Try to shoot for a fairly even split between the first and second half of the run, if you can. Aim for a consistent pace but a slightly increasing perceived effort as the run unfolds.

    Also, don’t neglect nutrition and fueling! Taking in a couple hundred caloreis an hour will go a long way.

    Kyle @ SKORA

  2. That’s so exciting!! Good luck this weekend!!

  3. cooperrp@comcast.net

    Post-race massage! Great idea! All the best to you both – wish we could be there….

  4. Start [relatively] slow, stay positive and have a great time! Best of luck to you!

  5. WOW!!! You guys have FUN!!! You’re going to have a fabulous time!! Woohoo!! XOXO!!

  6. Patty

    Have a great time on Sunday. Can’t wait to see the post race report!

  7. Papa

    Good luck to both of you this weekend. You’ve both planned, prepared and trained. Just stick with your race plan. Good Luck.
    -Papa

    Oh, and AAAaaaaaaarrrrrrgh. Today is Talk Like a Pirate day.

Leave a Reply

