What I Would Do Differently If (When) I Run a Marathon Again

Happy Wednesday everyone!

I hope you’re all having a good week so far. I’ve been relishing the fact that *gasp* I have no exams/big assignments due this week! Woohoo! 🙂

In today’s post, I wanted to look back a little bit on the marathon again. It was just over a month ago that I was completely absorbed by all things marathon-related. And honestly, I am beyond thrilled with how it all went. But there are a few things that I would do differently, looking back now. And given that there are probably going to be a few more marathons in my future, I figured why not do a post on it!

What I would Do differently if I ran a marathon again

  1. Gently build a base before really diving into the marathon training plan.

I was running A LOT over the summer. I ran several half marathons (a few of which were particularly hilly and challenging) as well as a 10 mile race, and I was doing a lot of long runs with my mom on the weekends. And this was all before I even officially began my marathon plan. Well, it was all fun and games until I strained my toe tendon. Looking back, I wish I had eased my body into things a little more slowly, so that my muscles would have been less fatigued when I finally worked my way up to those 17-20 mile runs. I ended up having to skip most of those scheduled long runs because I could barely manage to run 3 miles with my strained tendon. So, I would be interested to see how my marathon time might improve if I was healthy and able to get in ALL the planned long runs.

At our 10 mile race this past summer. I'm still happy because I haven't injured myself yet.

At our 10 mile race this past summer. I’m still happy because I haven’t injured myself yet.

  1. Experiment more with other fueling methods during training.

I know a lot of runners have issues with gels, but not me. I love GU’s! But after sucking down 4 of those ridiculously sweet gooey packs during the marathon, I was absolutely sick of them. I’ve heard that pretzels and even bread with honey can be good on-the-run fuel, and I think I’d like to experiment with those a bit next time to see if they work for me.

What i would do differently if I ran a marathon again. Experiment with fueling

  1. Make sure my toenails are trimmed VERY SHORT before the race.

Given that it’s going to take another 7-9 months for me to grow my big toenail back, I don’t think I’m ever going to forget this one. 😉 Going along with this, I would definitely try to put some Glide between my toes next time, as blisters get pretty painful when you’re running for 4+ hours.

  1. Eat chocolate chip pancakes after.

I love chocolate. I love pancakes. What better excuse is there for this completely nutritional value-lacking breakfast than having just run 26.2 miles?! And I haven’t had these guys in ages, so next marathon – I’m comin’ for ’em!

Rochester Marathon Race Recap

 

Have a happy Wednesday and good luck getting through the end of this week! 🙂

4 Comments

Filed under Marathon, Thoughts

4 responses to “What I Would Do Differently If (When) I Run a Marathon Again

  1. Jim

    Toenails is only #3 on your list?!?!
    If I ever take up running it’ll be #1 on my list.

  2. Soooo are you thinking about any races? I think the best part about running a race is choosing the next one! 🙂

Leave a Reply

