PSA: Winter is Here.

Hello hello!

If you follow my Instagram, you know winter has finally hit upstate New York.

Adventures of a Mother-Daughter Running DuoOh joy.

THANK GOD, I have sunny Florida to look forward to mid-January! In case you missed it, my mom and I have picked out our next race and state – the Clearwater Distance Classic! From the race website –

“It might be the most challenging half marathon in Florida, with two ascents each over two relatively tall bridges connecting Clearwater to the barrier islands. It might be Florida’s most scenic half marathon, as the entire course is within 1/4 mile of Clearwater Bay and / or the Gulf of Mexico.”

I’m pretty excited. Those bridges sound tough, but after having survived running 26.2 miles in September, I’m pretty sure I can handle 13.1 miles plus a couple of hills. 😉 My mom and I were originally hoping to do one of the Disney races as our Florida race, but we ended up missing the registration opening, and it filled up crazy fast. A Disney race is definitely still on the bucket list, it just won’t be this year.

I would love to really train hard for this and to push myself for a new PR, and I even found a Hal Higdon training plan for if I do decide to go for it. But… I’m not sure it’s going to happen.

Advanced Half Marathon PlanIt’s super early in the winter, and the snow is already hitting pretty hard. Between the weather and the craziness that is college finals, I’m just not sure I’ll be able to get in enough running. But I’m keeping the idea on the back-burner for now.

Given that it has been snowy, and I haven’t wanted to take my life in my hands by running in these perilous conditions, I’ve been continuing to try out new Fitnessblender workouts! This week, I tried

  • 30 Minute Brutal Butt and Thigh WorkoutDrop it Like a Squat! (The title was highly accurate. There were a ton of squats, and my legs are still sore two days later.) This workout was the perfect excuse for me to try this Soakology muscle relief gel my mom sent to me from her recent trip to Maine.

Soakology Muscle Gel for Sore Muscles

It was kind of like a fancy Icy-Hot lotion, and I loved it! I put it on the back of my legs where I was the most sore, and it made my muscles all tingly and cold. Which might sound odd, but I promise it actually felt pretty darn good! If this sounds interesting to you, the same gel can be purchased here.

  • Yesterday, I had a bit of workout video ADD. I first tried this Standing Abs Workout, but after 10 minutes or so, I decided to switch to something else. I’m not very flexible, and I felt like these exercises weren’t working very well for me because I just couldn’t get the range of motion for them to be challenging. So I did this Fast Abs 8-Minute Workout instead, which was much more manageable for me. And then, I topped it off with my favorite Tank Top Arms Workout!

Thank god I discovered Fitnessblender’s YouTube channel! These videos have been a lifesaver for times like these where weather has gotten in the way of my runs, and I feel like it’s so much easier for me to find the motivation to do these workouts since I can do them right in my room without having to drag myself to the gym. True story – I did the arms workout in my pajama pants the other day. 😉 Because I can be lazy and still desire to workout.

Happy Hump Day and have a good rest of the week!

4 Comments

Filed under Thoughts, Training, Uncategorized

4 responses to “PSA: Winter is Here.

  1. Rick

    The Florida run sounds like it is going to be gorgeous. And the gel – ‘wicked soothing’? – it doesn’t get better than that!

  2. I hope you are safe with all that snow! We are getting frigid temps here in Chicagoland!

Leave a Reply

