2015

Happy belated New Year!

I hope you all had a wonderful time ringing in the New Year! My New Years Eve was low-key, but it was spent with family and loved ones, and that made it pretty special. šŸ™‚

I have a quick correction to make from my last post – in it, I said my mom and I had crossed off 3 states… BUT I FORGOT ABOUT THE SHAMROCK HALF IN VA!! So make that 4 states, for a total of 7 states down. Only 43 to go! šŸ˜‰

But given that my last post was looking back on 2014, I figured now would be a good time to talk about 2015- goals, resolutions, the typical New Year drill. šŸ™‚

Running Goals for 2015

  • Incorporate a weekly hill workout into my running routine. I know hills are good for me. I know that, but I still hate them with a passion. Well, I want to try to change that in 2015. There are plenty of hills in the surrounding neighborhoods, so I’m going to suck it up, and start running them.
Hopefully this doesn't happen to me.

Hopefully this doesn’t happen to me.

  • Get a little speedier. To be specific, I’m hoping to start running half marathons averaging around 8:20-8:40 minutes/mile more regularly. And I wouldn’t mind a PR in a 5k either. This goal is a bit long-term, but I’m excited to start working on it.
  • Keep crossing off states. Florida is next and we leave in 9 days! I’M SO EXCITED!!!!
  • Keep using online workout videos for cross-training. In 2014, I discovered Fitnessblender, and finally started doing some different types of workouts (for example, I discovered I actually enjoy their 10 minute Tank Top Arms workout!) Through my ambassadorship with Sweat Pink, I’m currently getting to test out workouts from Gigabody.com right now! Like Fitnessblender, Gigabody offers users access to tons of different types of workouts of varying difficulty (though you need to join for $8.99/month in order to view the workouts). I’m still checking it out, but a full review is on the way!

Gigabody Review.

And in terms of blogging goals…

  • I’m looking to rebrand Adventures of a Mother-Daughter Running Duo in 2015! At the blogging conference I attended at the Heartbreak Hill Half, several successful bloggers stressed the importance of not being afraid of change.

How I met Your Mother meme.

Or in this case, the blog matures with us. šŸ˜‰ The blog will still be about running with my mom and our plan to run a half in every state (OBVIOUSLY), but I’m looking to shorten the name, and give it a slightly different look. So, I will be starting to work on that very soon, but I will try to keep posting regularly in the mean time.

So that’s a quick look at some of my plans for 2015! I’m very excited for the New Year and all the new things it will bring. šŸ™‚

Do you have any resolutions for the New Year?

4 Comments

Filed under Thoughts

4 responses to “2015

  1. dgobs

    That hill gif is amazing… that’s pretty much what I worry about every time I tackle a hill! I need to add hill workouts to my regimen too šŸ™‚

  2. cooperrp@comcast.net

    Titles are always challenging. Looking forward to what you come up with.Sent from XFINITY Connect Mobile App

  3. I’ve found some good Fitness Blender videos to work out with, too! Looking forward to seeing the blog changes that you make!

Leave a comment